10. June, 2013Uncategorized

1) Pride: thinking that you do not need God

2) Incarnation: God acquiring human nature

3) Salvation History: God acting in time to save His children from sin, death, and the devil

4) Revelation: God making Himself and His Divine plan for salvation known to His children

5) Love: willing the highest good for someone

6) Holy: something set apart for the work of God

7) Concupiscence: weakness in our nature as a result of original sin that inclines us to sin

8) Humility: knowing our utter dependence on God

9) Dignity: built in pricelessness as a child of God

10) Covenant: sacred promise between God and His children

11) Biblical Inspiration: God telling the human authors of scripture what to write while the human authors remained true authors

12) C.L.A.S.S.E.S.: clear conscience, length of time listening, ask God in prayer, silence, sacraments, endure spiritual dryness, scripture: used to discern our vocation from God

13) A.C.E.: avoid the near occasion of sin, cry out to God for help, endure until help arrives: used to overcome temptation

14) Grace: undeserved help from God

15) Docility: ability to be taught

16) Magisterium: the pope and the bishops who make up the teaching office of the Church

17) Parable: short stories using common elements that Christ used to teach a lesson

18) Synoptic: ‘with the same eye’; the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, and Luke

19) Moses Moment: a time of decision where you must choose between your own selfish way and God’s better way

20) Repent: to turn away from sin and believe in the Gospel