Saint House System

SBS cup

In 2011, St. Bernadette School launched a “House” system among its students to foster greater student participation and recognition in school activities.  The student body is grouped into five Saint houses:  St. Bernard, St. Dominic Salvio, St. Elizabeth of Hungary, St. Katherine Drexel, and St. Joseph, and each features its own color and spiritual character.  The houses comprise students and teachers from all grades to build vertical cooperation and unity throughout the school, and each house contains several smaller families that participate in various camaraderie, competition and other school events throughout the year.

All Saints Day launches the start of the St. Bernadette Cup year in which houses begin compiling points through games, academic and extra-curricular honors , service projects  and other challenges.  Such activities as Spelling and Geography Bees, Music programs, Quarterly Honors, CYO accomplishments and even participation in student-driven fund raising helps the houses earn points, and the year culminates with Field Day, after which the St. Bernadette Cup is awarded.

You’ll know when a house event is taking place at St. Bernadette since the students and faculty will sport the appropriate house colors of  Blue, Pink, Purple, Red or Gold.   The house program and St. Bernadette Cup has strengthened school spirit and helped students build friendships with those outside their grade and involvement in extra-curricular activities has increased along with a stronger focus on classroom achievement.


2022-23 Featured Saints

St. Bernard House (purple) will highlight St. Oscar Romero

St. Dominic House (blue) will feature St. Teresa of Calcutta

St. Elizabeth House (red) will showcase St. Pius of Pietrelcina (Padre Pio)

St. Joseph House (yellow) will spotlight St. Kateri Tekakwitha

St. Katharine House (pink/orange) will focus on St. Martin de Porres


Past St. Bernadette Cup Champions:

2019     St. Joseph House
2018     St. Joseph House
2017     St. Dominic House
2016     St. Bernard House
2015     St. Katherine House
2014     St. Joseph House
2013     St. Dominic House
2012     St. Dominic House